35 comments on “In Their Own Words: Farmers Weigh In on GMOs

  1. I’m humbled, Julee, to be part of this great group you’ve assembled. I’ve learned as much as you have from Scott and Wilde.

    Mike

    • @Janice.. yeah there were times I considered that because as you can imagine, this was like putting a puzzle together! But I felt the post was stronger with all the information together. In the future though, I may take your advice as I was up rather late last night!

  2. Thank you so much for taking the time to put all of this together…not just this article, but the whole ‘Benevolent GMO’ series of articles. It has all been really, really fascinating read – even if it did make my brain feel squeamish and uncomfortable at first!
    If you ever wonder if your blog has an impact on people, I’ll be first to tell ya that it does. After reading the 1st couple of articles you posted, I went searching for more information from sources outside the anti-GM movement…eye-opening, to say the least. Somehow, somewhere, I formed the opinion that Monsanto is “evil” so it must stand to reason that anything Monsanto promotes must automatically be evil as well. Forget tossing the baby out with the bath water, I tossed the whole damn tub out the window!

    At any rate, I truly appreciate your research and I appreciate the nice bonk on my head that’s caused me to step back and reconsider…everything.

    • Yes I received the same bonk on my head! Hurts at first! I am happy that you’re still reading because I know I’ve lost some. But it just feels right, the direction I am now going. I trust science but I’m still highly intuitive – some people might call it sensitive – and I follow my instincts. It was precisely that “inner voice” that started to whisper in my ear and tell me I needed to take another look, that I was barking up the wrong tree. Science or not, it has to pass a certain “gut” check to fly with me. I’m certain you understand that to perfection.

      Your blog is so diverse and interesting and I am drawn to the fact that you’re Iranian and I know how traditional the culture is. Here you are being so “untraditional”. That inspires me! And you love beer! I had an Iranian hair stylist for about two years and she was the BEST and I adored her and then she got pregnant and quit and I never saw her again but she taught me a lot. She came to the states to practice the baha’i faith.

      • Ignoring the inner voice leads to inner conflict and upset – never good. Just before you started your series, a biologist friend of mine asked me if I was “totally sure” all GM’s are bad…something in the way he asked made me hesitate – which was odd, I don’t hesitate to explain why I’m right, ever! :-D Then *BAM* here comes your series of articles…everything you wrote smacked of my own inner funky feeling and I understood where my hesitation was coming from. The bonk on the head hurts but in that ‘taking your first tumble off a bike’ kinda way…lesson learned – now work on the balance of things for a better ride next time. And it certainly doesn’t hurt as much as continuing to make false arguments and helping to pass along misleading information to others would.

        And I’m afraid my “Difference Between You & Me” post gave you the wrong impression – I’m not Iranian. Just a loudmouthed little woman from New Mexico. I’m a descendant of a tattooed Granny (she was inked in 1937!) & Flapper Girl great-Granny who inspired me to never to sit down and behave just because others think I should! ;-)

  3. Awesome post and way to reach out to diverse group of farmers!

    As for the rain we are getting in Oregon, I know that this grass seed farmer is VERY thankful for it. We had grass that was thirsty for some rain, hopefully the damage wasn’t already done and this rain will helps the crop pull through. We typically plant the majority of our grass in the fall but when we plant a new fescue (a perennial) crop it is in the spring. We did do that this year and it needed some water. Majority of our farm was fine without the rain because our soils are typically saturated with moisture anyway.

    I look forward to your visit this summer!

    • @ Marie – I recently read a novel where a small plot farmer lost all his seedlings to days and days of torrential rains… ruined his whole season. But of course, that was a novel. Our spring has been very dry and hot so this hopefull is a big help to the water table and our reservoirs. Happy to hear the wet stuff is welcome in your parts.

      Yes it rains in the Willamette Valley but not THIS much!

  4. Great stuff, Julee! Happy to be a part of it with all the other farmers. I hope we can continue our dialogue. To play on Mike’s photo of planting potatoes and the fact that he would still use the same planter if he had GM potatoes I have had similar discussions. Many know that I can talk on and on about precision ag equipment. If I were to go all non-GMO or organic I would still use the same equipment I have now. Just goes to show how diverse farmers are and that organic and GMO aren’t so black and white. There are farms in the gray area in between and farms that do both!

  5. Fascinating article; well written, good questions and great answers coming from people who toil the land. Those who downplay scientific advances, need to read your research. My own backyard-research reveals that while some cattle growers want to be organic, it is impossible on a practical level. Only dynamite or tons of weed killer eradicates the prickly weeds northern growers fight on their tens of thousands of acres. Thank you for this piece.

  6. This is so great! I’m thinking that people (especially those so overly concerned with GMOs) have no real idea of what happens on a farm at all. The responses were wonderful and interesting to read. And how much do I love Mike Bendzela? What a level-headed and awesome guy.

  7. Julee,
    This is a great post! Such an interesting and diverse group.
    Thank you SO much for including us in your farmer interviews. There are a couple of participants I hadn’t heard of. I am always eager to read about other farming operations and practices. There is so much to learn.
    I am thoroughly enjoying your blogging about your journey from “anti-GMO” to feeling “benevolent”. I think many of us have swallowed a whole lot of misinformation without realizing it.
    Keep up the good work.

    • And thank YOU Barbara for your participation. If I haven’t told you yet, the photos of your farm are stunning. What beautiful country the famed Shenandoah Valley is… and I love the folk song “Oh Shenandoah”… makes me tear up every time. I hope some day I can visit!

  8. Pingback: In Their Own Words: Farmers Weigh In on GMOs | SLEUTH 4 HEALTH | Vegan GMO

  9. Thanks for the perspective. I’m a farm girl (I’ll probably always put it that way, even when I’m 70), and all the anti-GMO, Evil!Monsanto hate-posts have been getting pretty old. Thanks for going right to the heart of it and asking the folks who actually work the land how they feel about it. Cheers!

    • @GrowingSeason: I would like to feature this video on my next post as an addendum to this one if it’s ok with you! Email sleuth4health@gmail.com if you have any additional input. I’ll post some of my own comments about the video, then the video with links to your website and youtube channel. What a neat idea you have going there!

  10. Very nice Julie. Great stuff.

    For the folks at Dow Farms, check out the transgenic results for Colorado Potato Beetle resistance!! This is from a published paper:

    “Results from the two years of field trials demonstrated that (transgenic) potato plants were highly effective in suppressing populations of CPB, and provided better CPB control than weekly sprays of a microbial Bt-based formulation containing Cry3Aa, bi-weekly applications of permethrin, or early- and mid-season applications of systemic insecticides (phorate and disulfoton).”

    WOW!!! When can they get it?

    That work was done in 1992-1993. Here we are 20 years later and still enjoying archaic pest management strategies.

    http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1046/j.1570-7458.2001.00851.x/abstract

  11. Pingback: Another Farmer Weighs In | SLEUTH 4 HEALTH

  12. Pingback: GMO Activists March Against Monsanto – Farmers’ Perspective | Agriculture Proud

  13. Pingback: The Anti-GMO Movement Continues To Disappoint | SLEUTH 4 HEALTH

  14. Pingback: Humble Pie | Food, Farm, Life Choices

  15. This was fascinating.I surely understand why cotton farmers want the GMOs. It makes good sense. But the continual use of RoundUp is concerning. It is so very toxic.
    For the foods I eat, though, I will stay with organics as much as possible.

    • @Emilie: I like your common sense approach. I think its important to look at GMOs that way. Sometimes they make sense and are just the right tool. Sometimes not. Doesn’t mean they’re all bad, or all good.

  16. Pingback: The Donald Danforth Plant Science Center

  17. Pingback: In Their Own Words: Farmers Weigh In On GMOs, Part One | SLEUTH 4 HEALTH

  18. Pingback: In Their Own Words: Farmers Weigh In on GMOs, Part Two | SLEUTH 4 HEALTH

  19. Pingback: In Their Own Words: Farmers Weigh In on GMOs, Part Three | SLEUTH 4 HEALTH

  20. Pingback: In Their Own Words: Farmers Weigh In on GMOs, Part Four | SLEUTH 4 HEALTH

  21. Pingback: In Their Own Words: Farmers Weigh In on GMOs, Part Five | SLEUTH 4 HEALTH

Leave a Reply

