5 comments on “We Need A Bridge Of Understanding

  1. I understand how Folta(TM) feels. I don’t need to defend him. He does very well on his own, But, if a non-scientist like myself gets annoyed, imagine how someone who actually is a scientist feels when he tries to dispel misconceptions using his area of expertise and is dismissed as an “industry shill” again and again, even though he isn’t. It makes me think the movement is intellectually bankrupt.

    • I couldn’t agree more Bernie, about the accusations of being an industry shill being beyond annoying. It is insulting to hard working scientists. Now about the movement – it may be intellectually bankrupt, but I don’t think its going anywhere. Perhaps it has a high limit credit line. I’m hoping to reach one or two.

  2. I have read your last 4 posts with great interest. As a feedlot and beef veterinarian raised on a farming and ranching operation, I have felt a breath of fresh air that someone, on perhaps the other end of the spectrum from me, is willing to have a discussion based on scientific evidence. I will not stand up and smash my fist on the perverbial table that all of our practices are appropriate in produciton agriculture, but I will say that I strive to do whatever it takes to base those practices on the most sound science available at the time. I personally believe that it is immoral to utilize production practices that allow more people in the world to starve each day, and I will continue to adopt technologies that enhance our production capabilities as long as they have met the standards of safety provided to us through research. I look forward to reading more from you in the future.

  3. Hey there Travis. Fellow Veterinarian here.. Where exactly have you found any science in any of these blog posts. You know what scientific citaitons look like, don’t you? Because I haven’t found a single one!
    By the way, I think it’s immoral to claim that beef feeds the world. In fact, livestock feed is contributing to deforestation because surely you know how much soy and corn it takes to finish a cow: “An old rule of thumb is that it requires 50 bushels of corn to finish an animal for our U.S. desired endpoint (USDA choice grade; USDA yield grade 2 or 3; approximately 28% body fat). There are 56 pounds of corn in a bushel, so you will need around 2,800 pounds of corn to produce an animal that weighs 1,250 to 1,350 pounds”. I am sure your producers enjoy the profits they harvest by feeding a taxpayer-subsidized cash crop.

  4. Hello there Julee:
    The first scientific citations for you blog.
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/?term=hammond+safety+assurance
    Can you list their strengths and their scientific flaws?

    How about this one:
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1240732/
    What biochemical test/technique would you recommend to find out if your corn-flakes contain this carcinogen? Can you find a study anywhere demonstrating that transgenic corn doesn’t contain these toxic substances?

Leave a Reply

