3 comments on “China Is Engineering Genius Babies

  1. It will be interesting. I read somewhere that humans have the most of a certain type of neuron, spindle neurons, of all the primates, that connects normally far flung sections of the brain, allowing the expediting of information and cross referencing at greater speeds across different parts of the brain. However, i read that dolphins may have even more. Maybe that’s why they laugh at us !

    Frankly, though, i can’t imagine where this will lead us to. I keep thinking of Wrath of Kahn or Gattaca. But that’s because they are the only scenarios that were presented to me on this subject. I do know, that, if determined, there will be no stopping the Chinese on this.

    • I apologize in advance for the political incorrectness of the statement I now feel I must make in response to this blog post. My statement does not speak to human rights issues, only the issue of human reproduction: While China seeks to isolate the best and brightest for replication, the US continues to reward the dumb and dumberer with incentives to procreate.

      • I don’t think that is US governmental policy as such but more of a US cultural quirk. I think it this, too, was acutely observed by Thomas Friedman in his, “The World is Flat”. “In China today, Bill Gates is Britney Spears. In America today, Britney Spears is Britney Spears-and that is our problem.” – Thomas Friedman.

Leave a Reply

