12 comments on “The Other (Big) Reason I Changed My Mind About GMOs

  1. Thanks for sharing, Julee. Years ago I remember wishing I could afford to only shop at Whole Foods and TraderJoes. I was pretty frightened by all the pseudo-science I read. I think my religious upbringing also often led me to confuse belief with knowledge.
    I thrust myself into science classes at community college when my youngest began Kindergarten. My perspective could not help but to be changed.
    I like how your change is displayed in this blog.

    • Jennifer, thanks for your comment. This was a huge pivot for me, not just about GMOs, but other big ideas – religion being one of them!

  2. The biggest issue here is that you have to separate the technology from it’s actual uses. As a basic technology for modifying crops there is nothing wrong with genetic engineering. However the problem is that the most (in)famous use of said technology is certain companies (Monsanto* for example) to create crops that are resistant to their brand of weed killer. Meaning of course that it encourages (over)use of said weed killer when growing crops and of course results of more of those chemicals to end up in our food and water supply.

    *They are the guys who made agent Orange for the military during the Vietnam war.

    There is also the problem that due to the huge amount of influence they (GMO producing companies) have it’s very difficult to separate good science from bad. There have been a handful truly independent studies done, however the negative ones end up being discredited. However it is difficult to judge whether these studies were actually flawed or if this is a repeat of what happened with leaded gasoline early in the 20th century (see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clair_Cameron_Patterson#Campaign_against_lead_poisoning)

    Additionally it is very difficult to judge effects of GMO on humans since there is no way to really isolate GMO eaters from non GMO eaters since there is a good chance that even if one tries to stay away from GM foods animal feed producers likely won’t and neither will the farmers feeding those animals. This doesn’t even take into account eating at restaurants, fast food chains, bars, someone else’s house, etc…

  3. Good article and congratulations on your new journey. You will find it interesting, profound and provocative. What you describe has been classified as Preconceptual Science. They form conclusions and then make the facts fit the conclusions and refuse to hear anything that conflicts with their conclusions – ergo – their conclusions must be correct.

    You will find this pattern of selective conclusions you’re describing repeats itself in all they promote. It’s unfortunate that so many don’t take the time to find the facts, accept the facts, or understand their scaremongering isn’t necessarily based on anything except dogma from a secular religion that borders on neo-pagan mysticism – Environmentalism!

    Rich Kozlovich

    • Thanks for your comment Rich. I don’t know how ‘preconceptual science’ can even be called science, but apparently, like ‘creation science’, it exists as a term.

      This experience has reshaped my thinking in all areas of my life. I have discovered that I’m really a skeptic. I just didn’t know it!

      I don’t agree with you about environmentalism though. I care very much about the environment and do believe it needs conserving. It’s not a religion to me, though, just an ongoing concern that influences my lifestyle.

      I hate one-use plastics most of all. Very wasteful. Ugly as trash. BAD for oceans. I bring my own bags to market and refuse plastic bags as much as I possibly can. I recycle and re-purpose plastic and try to cut back on using it. That’s how I do my part on a daily basis. I believe the oceans need our attention (I am a scuba diver).

      Because of what I’ve read and heard, I also believe that GMOs can HELP the environment, not hurt it.

  4. These people are scum. They even told me they they knew the corn data were false. These folks are as bad as it gets, and to use this tragedy to forward their fraud is deplorable. Thanks Julie.

    • I didn’t know they admitted it was false. But that makes their actions even more egregious. This is do-gooders being corrupted by… I don’t know… greed or something. Kind of like what happened to Greenpeace.

  5. I commend your honesty and transparency of how you got to where you are today. MAM and activist groups that play on people’s personal tragedies are scum. I rarely name-call, but that is low to attack person’s mental illnesses and blame it on glyphosate and GMOs. Shame on them.

Leave a Reply

