2 comments on “Refreshing Voice Speaks In Favor of GMOs

  1. There are only a few real concerns with GMO food crops and I’ve had direct, personal experience with one.
    GMO crops cross pollinating with heirloom crops, although that’s not a new concern, as some farmers do devote heirloom crops to specific fields and cash crops related to the heirloom crop to others, retaining other crops unrelated to the two as barriers or even fallow fields as a barrier.
    That leads to the other real concern that I’ve had personal experience with: diversion of GMO crops designed as animal feed. While living in a small foreign nation, a rather unscrupulous set of individuals managed to acquire corn that was designed as cattle fodder. They diverted the corn into the human produce stream. Many, including myself, purchased that corn.
    It was tough, tasteless and overall, inedible. It’s apparently, great for cattle, inedible for humans, as we lack bovine dentition and the additional fermenting stomachs of bovine species.
    The individuals who purchased the inexpensive cattle feed and diverted it were sent to prison for fraud.
    Those are the only real and valid concerns. I don’t absorb DNA, my GI track disassembles it and processes the base components so that my body can use them. Compounds created by genes spiced in to add resistance to pathogens aren’t a big deal, as I’m not a pathogen. Genes spliced in to combat insects are harmless to humans as well.

    So, if anyone has some fine GMO San Marzano tomatoes, I’m in the market for my garden. I’m also interested in both bell and chilli peppers.

    • “I don’t absorb DNA, my GI track disassembles it and processes the base components so that my body can use them. Compounds created by genes spiced in to add resistance to pathogens aren’t a big deal, as I’m not a pathogen. Genes spliced in to combat insects are harmless to humans as well.”

      Well said. Thank you for your comment!

Leave a Reply

