17 comments on “I’ve Looked At GMOs From Both Sides Now

  1. Great post! I’ve read most of these, but my reading list just increased…again.
    There is an old saying that “where there is food there are many problems…where there is NO food there is only one problem.” Many need to take a step back and consider what it would be like not to have the privilege and opportunity to be “all opinionated-and-well-fed-like…”! (I really like that phrase)

    • Thanks Barbara. And I love the saying you quoted “where there is food there are many problems…where there is NO food there is only one problem.”. SO true. Do you know who said it?

  2. I have a term for what causes some to accuse pro-gmoer’s of being shills.

    SAS, Shill Accusation Syndrome.

    It strikes those who just can’t believe someone can hold a view that differs from themselves and that someone came to that view independently. Interesting, it seems to have a high correlation to a lack of GMO’s in the sufferers’ diet. 🙂

  3. Pingback: [Ctrl-P] Julee K: I’ve Looked At #GMOs From Both Sides Now | skepfile·be

  4. Julee, I am a jewelry artist with a science background. When all the anti GMO memes started showing up on my FB wall before the ‘March against Monsanto’, I decided I needed to look for the facts and not the hype. My research has caused me to firmly come down on the side of GMO crops.

    Good work. your blog is one of the places I point the anti folks to.

  5. Pingback: [Ctrl-P] Julee K: I’ve Looked At #GMOs From Both Sides Now | Kritische Massa

  6. If you have not explored the whole “radiation mutagenesis” thing, you should*. So many anti-GMO people are completely unaware that the traditional method for obtaining genetic mutations and coming up with new strains of crops is simply to blast seeds with large doses of radiation, and see what pops up. Anyone who thinks this is any less “risky” than any transgenic crop is simply ignoring facts and believing what they want to believe. The lenape potato is a good example of radiation mutagenesis gone wrong.

    *I haven’t read every one of your blogs so maybe you have already. however, if you haven’t feel free to contact me for links. I don’t want to post links on your blog in the comments, at least not until I’m sure it’s ok by you as generally link posters on blogs get sent to spam. if you need links feel free to contact me (I’m not posting my email publicly tho)

Leave a Reply

